Posted on

To Cut or Not to Cut? That is the question…

I waited a couple days for the Jay Cutler knee injury pandemonium to die down before I gave my opinion. And that’s all this is. My opinion. In the end, it doesn’t matter what any of us think about Cutler’s early exit of Sunday’s game 21-14 loss to the Packers in the NFC Championship Game. We’re not part of the team. However, as I said before, we are all entitled to our own opinion. Mine is two-fold. I do not think Cutler should be facing the horrible backlash that he is for leaving the game. He did in fact have a Grade II MCL sprain, and seemed to be in a good amount of pain. Also, Coach Lovie Smith said it was actually his decision to pull Jay for the rest of the game and go with the two other quarterbacks who tried to lead a come back on Green Bay, which eventually failed. Whether we are supposed to believe that or not is irrelevant, Cutler still shouldn’t have faced as much controversy as he did.

And he certainly faced controversy from everyone other than Brian Urlacher and his coach, including fellow NFL players. Maurice Jones Drew, who later rescinded his comments, tweeted this…

Maurice Jones-Drew

@Jones_Drew32 Maurice Jones-Drew
Hey I think the urban meyer rule is effect right now… When the going gets tough……..QUIT..

MJD wasn’t the only one either. Lance Moore of the Saints, Anthony Armstrong of the Redskins, and many others all gave their 2 cents. My question is why? I have to agree with Brian Urlacher on this one. It’s none of their damn business. Maurice Jones Drew has as much of a right as I do to criticize Cutler, and I am not complimenting myself. I am insulting MJD because what is he doing? He’s sitting at home watching the game because his season is over, and his team did not make the playoffs. We do not know what Cutler was thinking, what people were saying to him, and how much pain he was in. We should mind our own business. But to quote Larry David & Jerry Seinfeld… “Having said that…..”

I still think Jay Cutler, pardon my french, is a “bitch.” Straight up. But the reason why I am not in uproar about this incident is simple. I am not surprised. This is not Tom Brady or Peyton Manning we are talking about. This isn’t even Eli Manning or Phillip Rivers. Cutler has never been a role model, a tough guy, or the ideal leader. He forced himself out of a good situation in Denver, and has had attitude problems his whole career. If it was Tom Brady or Manning, then I would understand the criticism. If you are Tom Brady, you gotta play. But guess what? Jay Cutler is not Tom Brady, and we don’t see the situation with Tom Brady because it would never happen to him. Cutler is Cutler and no one should be surprised. So, back off of him, but don’t pay any attention to him either. He’s not really worth it.

In a final note, I would have loved to have been a fly on the wall when the doctor told Jay that it was just a Grade II sprain, and not a Grade III or tear. Why? Because I have a feeling Mr. Cutler was hoping for the worst so he could tell the world, “See! I told you so!” Oh well. We’ll see where Jay plays next year.

-Z. Alps

About Z. Alps

20 something year old trying to find his niche

One response to “To Cut or Not to Cut? That is the question…

  1. Great article here. Man, the news never stops in the NFL eh? It has been really interesting to see all the different angles that people have been taking with regards to the Jay Cutler story. The players obviously have a dislike for Cutler and were not going to give him the benefit of the doubt on anything. I think it shows a lack of respect from his fellow NFLers, which can’t be a good sign for a player. Despite his god given abilities and him taking his team to the NFC Championship this year there is definitely something missing in Cutler. I personally think the players had the right to talk because, well, it’s a free country right. However, it can’t be any good for Cutler and Chicago has to figure out where they wanna go with their QB situation because I know a lot of NFL fans are calling for the Bears to go in a different direction. Also, you think you could check out my blog cuz I’d love to hear what you have to say. http://chrisross91.wordpress.com/2011/01/25/emotional-disconnect/

Leave a Reply

